The Trade Alliance Advisory Council is comprised of over 65 business, education, nonprofit, and civic professionals representing the Greater Seattle international community. The Council convenes once a quarter to advise on Trade Alliance activities and discuss new ways to drive our region’s competitiveness in a rapidly changing global economy.


The Council is chaired by Doug Kemper, President & CEO, Export Finance Assistance Center of Washington. The Advisory Council advises on many major Trade Alliance projects and initiatives, including:

  • Developing new messages that guide marketing and promotional efforts of the Trade Alliance and regional organizations
  • Developing the International Competitiveness Strategy
  • Determining destinations for future outbound mission activity
  • Enhancing inbound investment attraction efforts
  • Giving multiple industries’ perspectives on the Trade Alliance’s digital marketing efforts

Advisory Council meetings also showcase new initiatives taking place in the community that have potential international impact. To this end the Trade Alliance provides a platform in which organizations who are involved in international activity can present to the Advisory Council.


To apply for the Advisory Council, please fill out our application form.


Tamara Thorhallsson
+1 (206) 389-7301

2014 Advisory Council Roster

Daniel Alexander - The Boeing Company
Martha Anderson - City of Tacoma, Community and Economic Dev. Dept.
Kirsten Aoyama - Global Business Center, Foster School of Business, UW Business School
Sara Atalla - Global Washington
Al AuYeung - Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt, P.C.
Bob Babione - Kent-Kherson Sister City Assocation
Barbara Bannister - Fenwick & West LLP
Burton Bard - Sister Cities International
Jonathan Bensky - Pacific Northwest Advisors (PNWA)
Joseph Borich - Nyhus Communications LLC
Gary Brackett - Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber of Commerce
Diane Butler - Lane Powell PC
Cathy Callow - Economic Development Council of Seattle and King County
Allison Clark - Washington State Department of Commerce
Glenn Coil - Economic Alliance Snohomish County
Jack Cowan - French-American Chamber of Commerce, Pacific Northwest Chapter
James Cullen - J.D. Cullen & Co. Inc.
Bob Deane - US Export Assistance Center (USEAC)
Pradnya Desh - Desh International Law
Rhonda DeVito - Seattle MBDA Business Center
Catherine Filippini - British-American Business Council (BABC)
Gary Furlong - UZBEKISTAN: Honorary Consulate General of Uzbekistan
Bookda Gheisar - Global Washington
Peter Gishuru - African Chamber of Commerce of the Pacific Northwest
William Glassford - Commerce Bank
Kristi Heim - Washington State China Relations Council
Anthony Hemstad - World Trade Center Tacoma
Chuck Holland - Jones Stevedoring Company
Bruce Johnson - Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Howard Ju - Chongqing Trade Office
Doug Kemper - Export Finance Assistance Center of Washington (EFACW)
Masaru Kibukawa - Cascadia Community College
Eui-Jin Kim - Kaleb Real Estate Group
Karen Kodama - Confucius Institute of the State of Washington
Aze Malawo - OWIT International
Jeff Marcell - Economic Development Council of Seattle and King County
Sandy Marvinney - Seattle Chinese Garden Society
Steven Paul Matsumoto - Stigmare Couture
Lori Maxfield - Associates in Cultural Exchange (A.C.E)
Patrick J. McClain - City of Everett
Troy McClelland - Economic Alliance Snohomish County
Michael McQuade - Washington State Convention Center
Tiffany McVeety - Girandola Center
Michael Messina - Desh International Law
Catherine Michael - Edelman
Paige Miller - Arboretum Foundation
Ian Moncaster - World Affairs Council
Diane Mooney - US Export Assistance Center (USEAC)
Tomio Moriguchi - Uwajimaya Inc.
Ray Moser - King County Office of Regional Policy and Planning
Daniel Nicklaus - Regal Financial Bank
Young Oh - US Export Assistance Center (USEAC)
Lawrence Pang - Greater Seattle Chinese Chamber of Commerce
Carrie Pederson - Factor X Consulting
Bob Peters - Bank of America
Patrick Pierce - Economic Alliance Snohomish County
Tom Ranken - Washington Clean Technology Alliance
Edward Redmond - Washington State Senate
David Reid - Seattle University
Gregg Rodgers - Garvey Schubert Barer
Aaron Rose - ROI3, Inc.
Nathan Rothman -
Jordan Royer - Pacific Merchant Shipping Association (PMSA)
Meg Ryan - Highline Community College
Linda Salomon - Gobo Enterprises
Eric Schinfeld - Washington Council on International Trade (WCIT)
Andrew Serafini - Fenwick & West LLP
Janset Sey-Iskin - JP Morgan Chase
Sarah Sidman - ArtsFund
Timothy Stokes - Tacoma Community College
Jeffrey Van Duzer - Seattle Pacific University (SPU)
Carol Vipperman - University of Washington - Jackson School of Int'l Studies
May Wan - Greater Seattle Chinese Chamber of Commerce
Rusheng Wang - U.S. Bank
Mark Wen - Port of Seattle
Monica Whaley - National Center for APEC
Kathleen Wilcox - Kathleen P. Wilcox & Associates LLP
David Woodward - Associates in Cultural Exchange (A.C.E)
Evelyn Yenson - Seattle Community College District VI
Karin Zaugg Black - City of Seattle, Office of Economic Development
Tong Zhu - Port of Tacoma